share our page on:

EPSA 2017 Final Event

Over 120 guests from 19 different European countries and the European institutions participated in the range of EPSA 2017 events held in Maastricht on 20-22 November 2017. This prestigious award recognises the best and most innovative performers in public administrations across Europe. This international conference marked the celebration of the EPSA 2017, where all EPSA 2017 applicants came together, exchanged knowledge with other proven working solutions for public sector challenges and learnt from each other.

Please consult the FINAL PROGRAMME for more information. Regarding pictures of the final events, please see the EPSA 2017 album of day 1 (Maastricht Town Hall), EPSA 2017 album of day 2 (EIPA) and the EPSA 2017 album of day 3 (Award Ceremony).

You will find the PRESENTATIONS given below.

Monday, 20 November: EPSA 2017 Best Practice Certificate Ceremony at the Town Hall of Maastricht


Announcing and handing over the EPSA 2017 Best Practice Certificates
André Willems, Deputy Mayor of Maastricht
Prof. Dr Marga Pröhl, Director-General of EIPA.

Tuesday, 21 November: EPSA 2017 Nominees Presentations at EIPA’s premises


Welcome and chair
Prof. Dr Marga Pröhl, Director-General, EIPA

EPSA 2017: Key facts and figures
Harrie Scholtens, EPSA 2017 Project Leader, Expert, EIPA Maastricht.


European/National level

EPSA2017080 Digital Justice, submitted by the Spanish Ministry of Justice (ES),
presented by José Luis Hernández Carrión, Chief Information Officer, New Technologies General Subdivision; and Esther Bravo Barquero, Project Manager. Head of Department, New Technologies General Subdivision.

EPSA2017128 The Co-operation Fund, submitted by the European Union Intellectual Property Office - EUIPO (EU),
presented by Jef Vandekerckhove, Special Advisor to the Executive Director; and Miguel Olivares, Project Manager, International Cooperation and Legal Affairs Department.

EPSA2017134 Vensters, Project video
submitted by ICTU, KING Municipalities and the Dutch Ministry of the Interior and Kingdom Relations (NL), presented by Daniël van Geest, Programme Manager, ICTU; and Mari-An Gerits, Senior Adviser, KING Municipalities.

EPSA2017153 Sea Traffic Management,

submitted by the Swedish Maritime Administration (SE), presented by Ulf Siwe, STM Validation Communications Officer, Research and Innovation.

Regional level

Julia Bosse, EPSA 2017 Category Leader, Project Officer and EIPA Researcher,

EPSA2017029 Low Emission Zone Antwerp
submitted by Informatie Vlaanderen (BE), presented by Gert De Gelder, Project Manager, Informatie Vlaanderen; and Filip Lenders, Head of Energy and Environment Department, City of Antwerp.

EPSA2017089 The Catalan One Stop Shop as a driving force to SME smart regulation
submitted by the Business Management Office of the Ministry of Business and Knowledge, regional government of Catalonia (ES), presented by Cristina Pruñonosa, Business Management Office Manager.

EPSA2017111 The Open.Heart Project,
submitted by the Ombudsoffice for Children and Youths Salzburg (AT), presented by Andrea Holz-Dahrenstaedt, Head; and Manuela Geimer, Project Leader.

EPSA2017126 A root and branch reformation of an organisation’s business model (Presentation 1, Presentation 2),
submitted by the Region of Crete (EL), presented by Dr Nikolaos Raptakis, Executive Secretary; and Emmanouil Kalaitzakis, R&D Engineer, Human-Computer Interaction (HCI) Laboratory, ICS-FORTH.

Supra-Local/Local level

EPSA2017002 Senior Citizen Liaison Team (SCLT),
submitted by SCLT – Avon and Somerset Constabulary (UK), presented by Mr Ashley Jones, Chair of Trustee Board; and Dr Jon Williams, Trustee Board Member and Regional Lead Volunteer (Wales)

EPSA2017018 Talents for Austria,
submitted by the City of Trofaiach (AT), presented by Mario Abl, Mayor, City of Trofaiach; and Josef Missethon, Managing Director, Institute for Talent Development.

EPSA2017046 Nordwärts,
submitted by the City of Dortmund (DE), presented by Dipl. Geogr. Harriet Ellwein, Deputy Project Leader.

EPSA2017143 Robby the Rat,
submitted by the Municipality of Breda (NL), presented by Martijn Klootwijk, Manager Urban Water and Project Leader, City of Breda; and Michel Moens, Senior Consultant Urban Water, Arcadis.

Wrap up and conclusions

Prof. Dr Paul ‘t Hart, Professor of Public Administration at the Utrecht School of Governance, Utrecht University (NL)

Wednesday, 22 November: EPSA 2017 Celebratory Award Ceremony at the Provincial Government House in Maastricht


Theo Bovens, Governor and King’s Commissioner for the Province of Limburg,
Marga Pröhl, Director-General, EIPA.

European Public Sector Innovation and Digitalisation
Marlen Piskunov, Head of Department, Public Administration and Public Service Department, Ministry of Finance of Estonia, representing the Estonian Presidency of the Council of the European Union.

Strategies of the EU Commission to support Innovation in Public Administration
Florian Hauser, Representative of the Directorate-General Employment, Social Affairs and Inclusion, European Commission; member of the EPSA 2017 Steering Committee.

EPSA 2017: Main trends and solutions identified
Michael Burnett, Category Leader, Expert, EIPA Maastricht