EPSA target group & eligibility criteria

All European public sector institutions from all administrative levels, as well as public sector enterprises, agencies or public-private partnerships awere invited to submit their projects for the award until 1 May 2017.

In concrete terms, this includes all public entities from cities, local authorities, the supra-local (provincial) and regional level, as well as public sector organisations at national and European level.

The lead applicant must be a public sector institution or authority (other applicants – in a consortium, for example – can be private, semi-public, NGO or academic).

Projects/cases have to belong to one of the three administrative categories:

Category 1: European or National administrative level.
The European level refers to European institutions or agencies and the national level refers to the level of sovereign states.

Category 2: Regional administrative level.
The regional level refers to the first level of administrative and political subdivision of a state.

Category 3: Supra-Local or Local administrative level.
The supra-local or local level refers to the administrative and political levels below the regional level.


Bulgaria: national level; supra-local and local level: Obshtina (municipalities).

France: national level; regional level: régions (mainland and overseas regions); supra-local and local level:départements, municipalités.

Norway: national level; regional level: fylkeskommune (counties); supra-local and local level: kommune (municipalities).

Poland: national level; regional level: Voivodship - Województwo; supra-local and local level: powiaty(councils/districts), gminy (municipalities).

Spain: national level; regional level: comunidades autónomas, ciudades autónomas; supra-local and local:provincias diputaciones, municipios.

Eligibility criteria to be fulfilled by the applicants are:

  • The lead applicant is a public sector entity
  • European geographical origin of the applicant (List of eligible countries)
  • Compliance with the theme of the EPSA 2017 competition;
  • The application/project/case must have been in operation long enough to have proven evidence of impact and a tangible result;
  • Completed application form;
  • Confirmation that the application has been submitted, i.e. notification mail before deadline 24.00 Brussels local time (CET), 1 May 2017; and
  • The working language of the EPSA 2017 is English, thus it is strongly recommended to submit projects in English.

Projects tackling the integration of migrants and marginalised groups are especially invited for submission to the EPSA 2017 as integration represents one of the most difficult problems currently faced by public administrations in Europe.

Projects benefitting from EU supportive actions, such as the European Social Fund (ESF) Thematic Objective 11 (‘Enhancing institutional capacity of public authorities and stakeholders and efficient public administration’), are asked to identify any such support during the registration process.

Previous EPSA participants may re-submit projects from the previous EPSA editions insofar as they are based on a material adaptation, update and/or extension of past projects, including the achievement of significant results since any previous submission.